Siauliai, the fourth-largest city in Lithuania, has a rich history dating back to the 11th century. In the chronicles of the crusader Knights of the Sword (1236) it is variously referred to as Soule, Saulia and Saulen. 22 September 1236, the date of the battle of the Sun which took place nearby is now considered to be the date of the city's foundation. Šiauliai's tourism scene is vibrant, offering the chance to visit tourism attractions conected with arts – many sculptures on the streetys and parks, Jewish history – Chaimas Frenkelis Villa, for cats lover – the Cat's museum and to scrol down to the one of the longest pedestrian streets in Europe Siaulia Boulevard. The one of the largest Sundial in Europe is also in Siauliai. The architectural ensemble consists of the amphitheatre-shaped square and 18 metres high obelisk, crowned with the sculpture of the running archer. On a sunny day, this obelisk turns into the gnomon: casting the shadow of the Sun, moving around the dial face with infused metal numbers (12, 3 and 6), it shows local time of the geographical latitude.